Stepmom Challenge: 30 Days of Self Care

September 1, 2013 § Leave a comment

happiness aheadI’ve been quiet and pensive and slowly watching my life turn into something resembling a nightmare lately.

Enough.

I found myself looking back through tweets and pictures from the last 6 months and realized that I have completely lost my spark. And while I can (and will) wax poetic about all the things that are hurting my heart, in a lot of ways, they’re nothing new. What has changed is me.

I have spent the last year and a half learning that what makes or breaks my ability to cope with this roller coaster stepmom life is how well I am taking care of my self. Not only do I have to fill my own cup before I can fill anyone else’s, but my ability to see the positive, to keep reaching, to keep putting one foot in front of the other comes from that full cup.

I haven’t been taking very good care of myself.

I think, as stepmoms, we care so much and so deeply for others, our hearts for loving our husbands and our families, that we face a constant struggle to remember to take care of ourselves first and foremost. Our families depend on us being at our best, but we can’t be at our best if we don’t make ourselves a priority.

My life very well my be flipped completely on it’s head soon. I may go from being a 3 times a year stepmom to a fulltime stepmom. Which means I need to be at my best.

So I am putting a challenge to myself and to any other stepmom who wants to join me: 30 days of self-care. 

Today is September 1, the first of a month with 30 days. It’s a long weekend, with plenty of time to figure out your plan. But how hard can it be? Do one thing, every day, that fills your cup, that takes care of you.

Here are some things that fill my cup:

  • Going for a walk
  • Cooking a well-balanced meal
  • Taking photos
  • Journaling
  • Creating art for my home
  • Cleaning my house
  • Going on a hike
  • Doing a workout video
  • Gardening
  • Getting (or giving myself) a pedicure
  • Practicing mindfulness
  • Blogging
  • Unplugging from the internet

I can do this. I can turn things around. One thing at a time. Every journey starts with that first step, right?

I’ll be tweeting about my journey under #30dayselfcare. Hope to see you there.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stepmom Challenge: 30 Days of Self Care at except that.

meta

