Sweet.

November 4, 2010 § Leave a comment

Last night, I did that stupid thing where I put the sheets in the washer too late and tried to convince myself that I could remember to keep my ear open so I could  switch them to the dryer the second that washer stopped. Except of course I forgot to listen and remembered, oh, right around the time that I wanted to go to bed.  So while I waited, I did the natural thing, and fell asleep, open-mouthed and drooling on the bottom bunk of the skids’ bed.

[This isn’t about ruining bedding.]

I have no idea how much time passed lying there in the Harry Potter-themed abyss, but suddenly He was there, gently touching my arm. He said “Come on, you can’t stay in there all night. The bed is made.” And then he helped me crawl out of the bunk (man, did I feel old) and rubbed my back and helped me to bed.

I don’t know what it is about this story that compelled me to share it. It was just one of those moments when I remembered all over again why I love this man and why I want to share the rest of my life with him. He is patient and selfless and kind. He is unfailing when I need him. When he speaks to me, it is love.

That’s all, really.  I just love him. And sometimes I love the reminder.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sweet. at except that.

meta

