Nothing bad. For once.

June 10, 2010 § Leave a comment

I feel like I only generally come here when I want to bitch, moan, or otherwise express some variation of cynicsm. My writing muscles are all weak and puny, which leaves me to the easy options most days: 1) Writing as a means to work out my angst, or 2) Not writing.

In the interests of beefing up my "writing while things are not all that bad" muscles:

We're going away this weekend. To a little bed and breakfasty kind of place. We're taking a real trip, not going to anyone's family's house, staying more than one night, GOING AWAY. I don't even know what you're supposed to DO when you go away. We have no agenda, except two tickets for a boat tour around the bay, whenever we'd like to go (sunset? middle of the day? WHENEVER).]

I've never had a real vacation VACATION as a grown-up. I think I have more things on my list of things to possibly do than is realistic, and that's okay. We're going to see some ocean, get some sun, maybe even see a whale. We're taking a departure from this life and taking advantage of some things we've missed out on.

I think it's an unspoken rule that we won't be talking about shewhomustnotbenamed or anything about the [rhymes with schmarenting] plan. We are escaping and reconnecting. In the midst of everything that has been our lives in the last year (Two years?) we've lost ourselves a bit and we are marking this weekend as the turning point. We're closing the book and not looking back. We've done enough analyzing and reflecting to make us sick and we need to remember who we are as a couple. A couple who isn't consumed with this grief and heartache, a couple who doesn't always have that shadow lurking overhead, casting a pall on what is otherwise a happy and healthy relationship, a couple that is capable of finding joy again.

We need this, so very much.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nothing bad. For once. at except that.

meta

