Remembering.

May 19, 2010 § Leave a comment

Three years ago today…

  • I was waiting for him to pick me up. All day. It was the longest day of my life to date, I’m fairly certain. I made 2 giant batches of chocolate chip cookies (1 was for him, for his birthday), painted my nails, shaved my legs, plucked my eyebrows, went over and over my outfit, tried to read, watch a movie, blog, do everything I could to get to 6PM quicker. And yet, I sat there, nervous as all hell, excited as all hell.
  • He rang my doorbell and presented me with a DVD of Shaun of the Dead to borrow and a single red rose. Geek dating at it’s finest. Later that night I discovered he had stuck a post-it note inside that said “Hope you enjoy.” I fell in love with his handwriting on the spot. I still have that post-it note, and Shaun of the Dead is now one of my favorite movies.
  • We swapped Tragic/Hilarious Life Moment stories over Chinese food. My fortune said “You will always have good luck in your personal affairs.” I still carry that fortune in my wallet.
  • We watched Hot Fuzz in the theater. We were late to the movie, but since he’d already seen it, he put his arm around me to lean in and whisper what I’d missed. I died inside a million times over. I don’t think I heard a single word he said. I spent most of the movie edging my leg closer to his and hoping he’d hold my hand. It felt like I was 13 again, in such a wonderful way. 
  • Neither of us wanted to go home, so we drove to a local park and laid on our backs in the grass and looked at the stars. It was the most romantic thing I’d ever done. We laid there for 2 hours, looking for constellations, and talking about our childhoods, our favorite Star Trek characters, what we wanted to do with our lives. We only left because I got so cold that I was shaking. I didn’t care, I could have stayed there all night.
  • He drove me home and we made plans for a second date the next weekend. I didn’t want to get out of the car, and not just because the heater was so warm. At the very last minute, he leaned in and kissed me and it was like nothing I had ever felt before. I can still feel the way my heart lept out of its chest. I laid awake for hours after, replaying that feeling over and over again.
  • It was only our first date, but I knew I was going to fall in love.
Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Remembering. at except that.

meta

